### MONTGOMERY COLLEGE GOVERNANCE

## **Faculty Council**

### February 17, 2022

### Attendees

- **Members present**: Ahmad, Kay; Baker, Dana; Bontems, Susan; Karpakakunjaram, Vedham; Jones, Shelley; Lunn, Asia; Maradei, Sprague, Melissa; Terri; Pointer, Jon; Prendergast, Michelle; Richards, Soyini; Sprague, Melissa; Theophile-LaFond, Anestine; Thomas Desjardins, Ketely; Webb, Alla; Winffel, Norma
- **Proxies present**: N/A
- **Constituents present**: Jeri Gresham; Pam Trotter, Sally McLean, Harry Zarin, Sue Adler, Lorraine Bryant
- Members excused: Thomas, Rebecca; Martin, Chloe
- **Invited guests**: Sharon Wilder
- Council Liaison: Terry, Carolyn
- Governance Director: Ridguard, Clevette

## **Call to Order**

The regular meeting was called to order at 12:00 pm by Dana Baker, co-chair. There was a quorum to conduct governance business.

## Approval of the Agenda / Minutes

The agenda for today's meeting was approved. Review of the minutes from February 3, 2022 was tabled due to technical difficulties. This meeting was recorded for internal use only.

At this time, guests were invited to speak.

#### **Constituent Concerns**

• Dana shared a concern from a faculty member who was discouraged from nominating a peer because other faculty declined from writing recommendations to support the nomination. They declined stating the candidate has not been here long enough. However, the candidate has been here for more than three years. The co-chairs will send out an email blast to faculty encouraging all to nominate for service excellence not based on longevity.

#### **Chair's Report**

The council co-chairs, Rebecca Thomas and Dana Baker, shared a PowerPoint\* for their report. Information is provided to members and guests regarding updates and upcoming events.

**Equity and Inclusion Presentation\*** from guest speaker, Sharon Wilder, Chief Equity and Inclusion Officer

# **Committee Reports** –

- College-wide Curriculum Committee (CCC): Vedham reported that Anthony Solano has resigned from his role as co-chair. Harry Singleton has volunteered to be co-chair. The CCC unanimously elected Harry Singleton to be co-chair. Anthony Solano will serve as the Germantown CAP to fill the position that is currently vacant. Faculty Council vote needed. Anestine Theophile-LaFond moved to accept Anthony Solano as the GT CAP, seconded by Alla Webb. Faculty Council members unanimously voted to accept the motion for Anthony Solano as the GT CAP for a three-year term. Vedham shared that there are several proposals for changes to the 22-23 catalog. See report\* submitted by Vedham.
- General Education Standing Committee: Michelle shared some updates to membership and proxies. Several recertifications were approved. See report\* submitted by Michelle.
- Academic Regulations (AR) Committee: Norma shared concerns about awarding credit for prior learning AR 3.71; this is referring to courses taken at MCPS and a proposal to award grades for those CTE courses taken at MCPS. Currently they get a CR, articulated credit. The push is to give them a letter grade for these courses. Norma shared a letter that was sent to Emily Dow at MHEC from the Credit for Prior Learning (CPL) committee. Norma shared concerns about the letter. Discussion ensued. Academic Regulations falls under Faculty Council. The Council will invite Ed Riggs and Kim Kelley, chairs of the CPL committee, to attend a future meeting of the Council.

# **Campus Reports**

- Germantown Faculty Senate no report, their meeting was postponed.
- Rockville Faculty Senate Anestine LaFond reported from their 2/11meeitng. The RV senate invited department chairs to send one representative to attend the senate meetings. SRT recommendations were submitted 2/3/22. We discussed topics and speakers for future meetings; including Virtual College, Mental Health, and Early College.
- TPSS tabled; the TPSS faculty senate has not been reconvened.

## **Unfinished Business**

#### Outstanding Faculty Awards

The co-chairs present the following faculty members to serve on the 21-22 OFA Review Committee: Dr. Mary Robinson, Outstanding Faculty Award recipient from 2021 will chair the committee this year; Michael Hayden, Sara Campbell, Alessandra Sagasti, Andrea Steelmen, Brenda Crist, Teri Hurst. Vedham made a motion to accept these candidates as recommended to serve on the committee. Kay seconded the motion. The Council voted unanimously to accept the motion. The co-chairs will submit this recommendation to the SVPAA office.

Inclusive Syllabus Supplement Review

The Council determined that this syllabus supplement will be recommended to faculty as an optional supplement. Rebecca and Vedham spoke to Paul Miller from Elite about creating a training opportunity during professional week at the end of the semester for faculty to learn more about the suggestions for inclusive language and the inclusive syllabus template.

Motion made by Dana Baker to accept the supplement as written in the Inclusive Sylabus-2021-2022\_vO2\_12\_22 (1) version. It was seconded by Melissa. The Council voted unanimously to accept the motion. The document will be kept on the Faculty Council website under Syllabus Templates.

\*Any presentations or supporting documents shared at this meeting will be available on the Faculty Council AY 2021-2022 Teams site.

Meeting adjourned at 1:55 pm Respectfully submitted by Melissa Sprague, Faculty Council Secretary